Oat Waffles

Source: Ecological Cooking
Date tried: April 14, 2015
Yield: 8 servings
Time needed: 30 minutes

Well, long time no see. I haven’t stopped trying new recipes, though I have slowed the pace somewhat.  But I took on a project last January that left me no time for anything else.  And this week, I finished it. So although I won’t be likely to put up something every day, I am back and intend to stay around awhile.

I don’t have a waffle iron, so I can’t make typical looking waffles. That is why the waffles below look like pancakes.  But they do have that crispy waffle texture and for those of you who do have a proper waffle iron to cook them in, I highly recommend them.

Oat Waffles

Oat Waffles

Oat Waffles
2 cups rolled oats
3 cups water
1/2 cup raw cashews
2 Tbsp. whole wheat flour
1 Tbsp, baking powder
2 Tbsp. oil
1/2 tsp. salt

Combine all ingredients in a blender.
Process on high until chopped very fine and mixture is foamy.
Let stand 10-15 minutes.
(May be made to this point the day before and refrigerated overnight if desired.)
Bake in a hot, lightly-oiled waffle iron for 10-12 minutes until firm and brown.
Serve with maple syrup or natural fruit syrup.

Leave a Reply

