Regan’s Tea

Source: Whole Foods for the Whole Family
Date tried: June 23, 2016
Yield: approximately 2 1/2 cups loose spiced tea.
Time needed: about the time it takes the kettle to boil.

I am not much of a tea drinker. And it shows in this picture. While I did find a nice little pottery teapot—enough to make 2-3 cups of tea. I could not find a single tea cup in my house. My mother would roll over in her grave!! I mean one thing I know about enjoying a cup of tea is that one must have a proper cup, not a mug one would use for coffee. It just won’t taste right. Anyway I decided to try this little bowl which reminded me of the cups used for tea in Chinese restaurants, and it worked very well.

I obtained the loose tea leaves at the new DavidsTea outlet on Queen Street West. It is a black breakfast tea which reminds me very much of the tea my mother used to make. And with a cookie, (I simply cannot have tea without a cookie), it was quite delicious. I am actually looking forward to having some more.

Regan's Tea

Regan’s Tea

Regan’s Tea
6-12 2” cinnamon sticks
1-2 tsp. wholes cloves
1 whole nutmeg
8 allspice berries

2 cups tea leaves, regular or herbal
1/4 cup grated dried orange peel
1/4 cup grated dried lemon peel

Wrap the cinnamon sticks and other whole spices in a cloth and crush with a hammer, or grate in a blender.
Combine spices, tea leaves, and dried citrus peel.
Store in an airtight container.

Use 1 heaping teaspoon of tea leaf mix per cup of boiling water.
Sweeten to taste. (optional)

2 thoughts on “Regan’s Tea

Leave a Reply

